Baseball and mkts from Niederhoffer’s specs

I was in the US embassy trying to get my visa and as a distraction I was reading Vic Niederhoffer’s “Practical Speculation”. I found a suggestion why I like so much baseball and markets.

 

page 245:

At a 2001 Yankee Playoff game co-announced by New York Governor George Pataki, it was mentioned as a matter of routine that a certain batter had the third hightest percentage of foul balls per pitch with two outs during playoffs of all American League players. If only market practitioners were to keep at their fingertips one-thousandth of that kind of knowledge abut the picks of their favorite analysts – returns to be anticipated, winning streaks, balls, strikes and so on- the market would be a far more sensible and profitable place.

 

Maybe facebook can help finding patterns among these analysts.

Leave a comment